Exposure 2010: David Birkin, Jonathan Foulger, Tess Hurrell, Jo Longhurst, Indre Serpytyte

7 January - 20 February 2010

James Hyman Gallery is pleased to present an exhibition of recent works by the five winners of the 2009 National Media Museum's Photography Bursary Award. 

Selected from more than 200 applicants, these five artists were judged to reflect the significant range and diversity of photographic practice visible in the UK today. Greg Hobson, Curator of Photographs at the Museum said: It was a real pleasure to see a consistently high standard of creative photography alongside intelligent and inspired proposals.2009 awardees whose work will be exhibited at James Hyman Gallery are:

David Birkin, who will receive funding to complete The Confessors, forming part of his ongoing Confessions series. http://www.davidbirkin.co.uk::www.davidbirkin.co.uk 


Jonathan Foulger's bursary will enable him to show his first major project The Simon Community professionally. http://www.jfoulgerphotography.com::www.jfoulgerphotography.com

Tess Hurrell
, recipient of a 2008 Pavilion Commission, will receive support towards studio hire and materials costs for the continuation of her Basic Needs series. http://www.tesshurrell.com::www.tesshurrell.com


Jo Longhurst, another 2008 Pavilion Commission recipient, will be funded to create a discreet body of work that will form part of her Perfect series, which interrogates the world of competitive gymnastics. http://www.jolonghurst.com::www.jolonghurst.com


Indre Serpytyte's Bursary will enable her to commission the design and production of a limited edition book, which will be a powerful meditation on the hidden histories of the brutal Second World War Soviet occupation of Lithuania, Serpytyte's home country. http://www.indre-serpytyte.com::www.indre-serpytyte.com

The award is sponsored by Michael G Wilson (Chairman of the Trustees of the National Media Museum), Zelda Cheatle (WMG Photography Advisor and Curator), Simon Crocker (Chairman of The John Kobal Foundation), Pierre Brahm (Chairman of the BRAHM and Henry & James Property Group), and James Hyman (James Hyman Gallery), all of whom also sit on the Bursary panel.